The Baluo project

Swiss-Gambian husband and wife team Foday and Martina Alig Ceesay launched project Baluo in remembrance of Mohammadou Ceesay. Mohammadou died in 2008, at the age of only 21, while trying to reach Europe. His ship, with over 200 people on board, sank on the way from Mauritania to Spain killing more than 100 people, including 25 people from the region of Damphakunda, Foday’s original home.

Mamadou Ceesay

Mamadou Ceesay († 2008)

The Baluo Project would like to provide an alternative to Migration by creating apprenticeships and jobs, and therefore building up local skills and know-how. Young people in The Gambia should be able to make a living in their own country, and make a positive contribution to the development of their land and its people.

To reach this goal, Baluo sets up small businesses, accompanies them in the start-up phase and, where possible, supports them towards independence. The aim is then, to use these self-reliant businesses to provide training opportunities for workers in the future.

The apprentices are trained by skilled Gambian workers, that have, in turn, been trained by their older family members. Further training of these skilled workers is made possible through our exchange program with specialists from Switzerland. Trainees, having finished their apprenticeships, should then be able to pass on their skills to the younger generation. In this way, they can provide sustainable growth of knowledge and skills in the local area.

We want Baluo to insist on maintaining high standards, as this will serve to make our businesses stand out on the Gambian market.  We are committed to building a strong infrastructure, and negotiating fair terms of employment together with the employees, so we can find and keep good workers. Wherever possible, we also work with local businesses and use local materials.

We want Baluo to function as a role model to other businesses, and show what is possible to do with simple means.

Projekt Baluo

Baluo ist 2008 vom gambisch-schweizerischen Ehepaar Foday und Martina Alig Ceesay im Andenken an Mohammadou Ceesay gegründet worden. Mohammadou starb 2008 im Alter von nur 21 Jahren beim Versuch nach Europa zu gelangen. Sein Schiff sank mit über 200 Personen an Bord auf dem Weg von Mauretanien nach Spanien. Mehr als 100 Personen kamen dabei ums Leben, darunter 25 Leute aus Fodays Heimatort Damphakunda.

Mamadou Ceesay

Mamadou Ceesay († 2008)

Das Projekt Baluo möchte eine Alternative zur Migration aufzeigen. Ziel von Baluo ist es, handwerkliche Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsplätze in Gambia zu schaffen und so lokales Wissen und Können aufzubauen. Junge Menschen sollen ihren Lebensunterhalt in Gambia selbstständig bestreiten können und zur Entwicklung ihres Landes und dessen Gesellschaft vor Ort beitragen.

Baluo gründet deshalb kleine Handwerksbetriebe, begleitet sie in der Anfangsphase und führt sie wenn immer möglich in die Selbstständigkeit. Gleichzeitig möchte Baluo die Berufsausbildung direkt in diese selbsttragenden Handwerksbetriebe integrieren.

Ausgebildet werden die Lehrlinge dabei von gambischen Fachleuten, die ihr Wissen von älteren Familienmitgliedern erlernt und durch Austausche mit Schweizer Berufsleuten erweitert haben. Die Lehrlinge sollen nach ihrer Lehrzeit ihr Wissen wiederum einer jüngeren Generation zur Verfügung stellen und so für einen nachhaltigen Aufbau von lokalem Wissen und Können sorgen.

In seinen Betrieben will Baluo konsequent auf gute Qualitätsarbeit setzen und so eine Marktlücke in Gambia füllen. Um gute Handwerker anstellen und halten zu können, setzt Baluo auf eine gute Infrastruktur sowie das gemeinsame Aushandeln von fairen Anstellungsbedingungen. Gleichzeitig werden wenn immer möglich lokale Dienstleister und Händler berücksichtigt sowie einheimische Rohstoffe verwendet.

Baluo möchten eine Vorbildfunktion einnehmen und demonstrieren, was diesbezüglich mit einfachen Mitteln möglich ist.