Welcome

Welcome

In Mandinka, the most widely spoken language in The Gambia, Baluo means “Future” – something that young Gambians often don’t see in their own country. Seeing no hope of a future in The Gambia, and thinking it’s their only choice, many undertake the dangerous and sometimes fatal journey to Europe.

We want to help by setting up small-scale businesses, accompanying them while they are setting up and, whenever possible, helping them to become independent. At the same time, our charity also organizes the onsite training of apprentices, and arranges regular exchange programs with Swiss professionals, to further the workers’ skills.

The goal is for young Gambians to learn a trade, so that they can then earn a living in their own country.

The project was first started by the Swiss Gambian married couple Foday and Martina Alig Ceesay in 2008, with the opening of a bakery in Gambia. Since 2012, it has been provided with financial and non-material support from members of the Baluo charitable organisation.

Herzlich Willkommen

Baluo bedeutet «Zukunft» in Mandinka, der am weitesten verbreiteten Sprache in Gambia. Junge Gambierinnen und Gambier sehen vielfach keine Zukunftsperspektive und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten in ihrem eigenen Land und treten als vermeintlich einzige Chance den riskanten und oftmals lebensgefährlichen Weg nach Europa an.

Hier will Baluo ansetzen, indem er in Gambia kleine Handwerksbetriebe gründet, in der Anfangsphase begleitet und wenn immer möglich in die Selbstständigkeit führt. Gleichzeitig organisiert Baluo die Ausbildung von Lehrlingen direkt in den Betrieben und bildet das Personal durch regelmässig stattfindende Austausch-Aufenthalte von Schweizer Berufsleuten weiter.

Ziel ist, dass junge Gambierinnen und Gambier einen handwerklichen Beruf erlernen und danach ihren Lebensunterhalt in Gambia selbstständig bestreiten können.

Das Projekt Baluo wurde 2008 vom gambisch-schweizerischen Ehepaar Foday und Martina Alig Ceesay durch die Eröffnung einer Bäckerei initiiert. Seit Oktober 2012 wird ihr Engagement von den Mitgliedern des Fördervereins Baluo ideell getragen und finanziell unterstützt.